UPHS – Bell Heroes | Helana Johnson, RPSGT, Polysomnographic Tech

What is your title and role at UPHS – Bell? 
My title is Polysomnographic (or PSG) Tech. I am a Registered Respiratory Therapist with an RPSGT credential. My role at UPHS – Bell is to run and score sleep studies and fill in as an RT as needed on nightshift. My role in the department has changed since the increase in COVID numbers, and the extra staffing needs in our department. I am currently helping out on any shift that I can in the Cardiopulmonary Department as an RT, as sleep studies are temporarily on hold. I look forward to getting back to sleep studies however, I am very thankful I am able to help out in the Cardiopulmonary Department at this time. 

How long have you been employed here? Have you always been in the same position? 
I have been employed at UPHS – Bell for 9 years. I was hired as a Respiratory Therapist and became a PSG Tech officially this February. 

What does a typical day look like for you? 
My nights are busy! The first part of my shift I am preparing for my patients to arrive, once my patients arrive, I am busy prepping them for their sleep study. First, I spend time educating the patient on sleep disorders, PAP therapy, and how the study will go and learning more about them. Then I start the setup process, setting them up with roughly 20 wires that measure EEG on brainwaves, eye movement, chin movement, EKG, snore, and respiratory effort, airflow, and oxygen saturation. Once the patient is set up, I monitor their sleep, score the study while it is running, and assess whether or not the patient needs intervention like PAP therapy or oxygen. Once the study is over, I take all the wires off the patient, then clean the equipment and prepare for the next night. 

Tell us a little bit about your family:
I am married to my high school sweetheart, Luke, and we have been married for 16 years! We have three beautiful daughters, Lillianna age 14, Alexys age 12, and Evelyn age 6. We have a dog named Ellie, a cat named Marley, and 7 chickens. We love being outdoors, especially camping, biking, and exploring. Our girls are busy; they dance competitively, play basketball, take horse riding lessons and piano lessons currently. They are always ready and willing to try something new! My husband and I enjoy new household projects, we are always building something.

What are some of your favorite hobbies? 
I have recently taken up gardening and raising chickens. I also love camping and the outdoors. 

What is your favorite season? 
My favorite season of the year is Fall, I love the color changes, the smell of Fall, and the time spent outdoors! Halloween and Thanksgiving are my absolute favorite holidays!

What is your favorite part about working for UPHS – Bell? 
My favorite part about working at Bell is the positive environment, support, and teamwork that I feel every time I enter the building. From a spill on the floor, to a printer that won’t print, to a helping hand needed with a patient, there is always someone available and willing to help. I appreciate everyone in this building for their hard work and positive attitude, I truly do love working here!  

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *